2.11.78.1, 2018-11-28 22:27:40
Research-and-Development

Research and Development.

We combine science and fiction.

Helping to shape the future

Overview.

Helping to shape the future is an exciting and inspiring task.

We don't wait to see what the future holds. We develop it ourselves. With imagination, creativity, expertise – and success.

Our cars are becoming increasingly safer, more efficient and smarter. They communicate with the driver, connect with their environment, drive purely electrically and soon automatically too. They are therefore more than just a means of transport, rather also living spaces. They are designed and developed by people with imagination, creativity and expertise. People who know what's at stake – that is, the future of mobility. Helping to shape this is an extremely exciting task, since it involves turning science fiction into reality.

Distributed over a total area of 1.2 square kilometres, the Research and Development division in Wolfsburg is one of the largest automobile innovation centres in the world. This is where more than 10,000 highly qualified employees develop the Volkswagen models and imbue them with emotional charisma marked by technical perfection.

The development centre in Wolfsburg is the innovation hub, the think tank, the nerve centre of a global development network, and also where alternative drive concepts, forward-looking assistance systems and the digital networking of the vehicle are driven forward.

working-in-group-research

Working in Group research.

The future of the automobile is characterised especially by trends andsocietal conditions. Volkswagen Group research makes it its mission to anticipate and understand the future needs of our customers and to translate these into innovative technologies. Its aim is to ensure that our customers' present and future requirements in terms of individual and affordable mobility can be fulfilled by means of sustainable technologies. We work closely with our partners to achieve these objectives.

Group research is based in Wolfsburg, and is in charge of R&D for all Group brands. International trend and technology scouting is carried out with research institutions in the framework of strategic alignment – in markets such as the U.S., Japan and China among others.

Working in development.

Modern technologies and facilities, such as a variety of different test beds, climatic wind tunnels, visualisation centres and two proving grounds, are on hand to provide support in the concept phase, design, construction and testing of Volkswagen future models. A core aspect in this regard is the E-Campus, where Volkswagen bundles its expertise in the area of electrical systems and electronics.

The topics are exciting and forward-looking. The teams work together in a spirit of cooperation and professionalism – with one another and with other corporate divisions.

image

Journey back in time.

The history of research at Volkswagen

The inside story.

Who could be better qualified to provide a clear and credible report about the Research and Development at Volkswagen than colleagues at Volkswagen Research and Development? It's obvious, don't you think?

Sounds good?

Come on board.

 

 

Take the next step.

2.3.47.2, 2017-10-10 18:26:25

Forschung und Entwicklung.

Wir verbinden Science und Fiction.

Überblick.

Die Gestaltung der Zukunft ist eine faszinierende Aufgabe.

Wir warten nicht ab, was die Zukunft bringt. Wir entwickeln sie selbst. Mit Fantasie, Kreativität, Kompetenz – und Erfolg.

Unsere Autos werden dabei immer sicherer, effizienter und intelligenter. Sie kommunizieren mit dem Fahrer, vernetzen sich mit ihrer Umgebung, fahren rein elektrisch und bald auch automatisch. Dabei sind sie nicht nur Fortbewegungsmittel, sondern auch Lebensräume. Gestaltet und entwickelt werden sie von Menschen mit Fantasie, Kreativität und Kompetenz. Sie alle wissen, worum es geht - um die Zukunft der Mobilität. Diese aktiv mitzugestalten, ist eine äußerst spannende Aufgabe: denn hier wird Science-Fiction Realität.

Mit einer Gesamtfläche von 1,2 Quadratkilometern ist die Forschung und Entwicklung in Wolfsburg eines der größten automobilen Innovationszentren Welt. Über 10.000 hochqualifizierten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern verleihen den Volkswagen Modellen technische Perfektion und emotionale Ausstrahlung.

Die Entwicklung in Wolfsburg ist Innovationsschmiede, Denkfabrik und Schaltzentrale eines globalen Entwicklungsverbunds. Hier werden alternative Antriebskonzepte, zukunftsweisende Assistenzsysteme und die digitale Vernetzung des Fahrzeugs weiter vorangetrieben.

Arbeiten in der Konzernforschung.

Die automobile Zukunft wird maßgeblich durch Trends und gesellschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen geprägt. Aufgabe der Volkswagen Konzernforschung  ist es, zukünftige Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden zu antizipieren, zu verstehen und in innovative Technologien zu übersetzen. Ziel ist, auch zukünftig den Wunsch der Kunden nach individueller und bezahlbarer Mobilität mit nachhaltigen Technologien zu erfüllen. An dieser Aufgabe arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern.

Die Konzernforschung hat ihren Hauptsitz in Wolfsburg und ist zuständig für alle Marken des Konzerns. Für die strategische Ausrichtung betreibt sie ein internationales Trend- und Technologiescouting mit Forschungseinrichtungen – unter anderem in den Märkten USA, Japan und China.

Arbeiten in der Entwicklung.

Für Konzeption, Design, Konstruktion und Erprobung zukünftiger Volkswagen Modelle stehen moderne Technologien und Einrichtungen wie unterschiedlichste Prüfstände, Klima-Windkanäle, Visualisierungszentren und zwei Prüfgelände zur Verfügung. Ein Herzstück ist der E-Campus, auf dem Volkswagen seine Kompetenz im Bereich Elektrik und Elektronik bündelt.
Die Themen sind spannend und zukunftsorientiert. Die Teams sind kollegial und professionell, im permanenten Austausch untereinander und mit den anderen Unternehmensbereichen.

Aus dem Nähkästchen geplaudert.

Wer könnte besser, anschaulicher und glaubwürdiger über die Forschung und Entwicklung bei Volkswagen berichten, als Mitarbeiter bei Volkswagen selbst. Bitte sehr.

Klingt gut?

Los geht's!

Machen Sie den nächsten Schritt.